Sauce Boss

Featuring Original Music from the documentary
“Jimmy Carter Rock & Roll President”

“Peanuts” is the latest album from the Sauce Boss.  It’s a diverse retrospective, with some new tunes thrown in, all from the original score for the Jimmy Carter film. From his 1989 Kingsnake release of "Let the Big Dog Eat" featuring Pat Ramsey and Lucky Peterson, through three decades of shouting his blues, to the new release of “Shiner’s Blues,” Bill Wharton has painted a sonic backdrop for the story of a president, who to this day is an ardent fan of music. 

It was arguably musicians who got Carter elected, playing benefits on the weekends so he could buy ads on Monday morning, and introducing fans to their good friend, a peanut farmer from Georgia. As Chuck Leavell said, “He’s one of us.” While in office, the President used music as soft diplomacy to make this world a better place. 

The movie has garnered many accolades. President Jimmy Carter said, “The film exceeded my expectations in every way.” CNN Films premiered “Rock and Roll President” on January 3, 2021. The Los Angeles Film Awards gave “Best Picture”, and ‘Best Feature Documentary” to Director Mary Wharton, along with “Best Original Score” going to Bill Wharton, the Sauce Boss himself!


 1. Let the Big Dog Eat     3:06

 2. Zipper Bird     3:32 

 3. I Bait My Hook by the Light of the Moon 3:45

 4. Shiners Blues     3:11

 5. Small Town     3:56

 6. Chicago Combat Zone     3:05

 7. Alligator     3:08

 8. Down in Georgia     1:54   

 9. Smile in a Basket     3:36

10. Outlaw Blues     4:47
11. Out in the Night     7:37

12. Pleasures of the Deep     4:43

13. Song of the Irish Band     2:12

Come and get your hot boiled peanuts right here!!!

For more about the movie, and time codes in the movie of my songs click here